Cut-outs, Textures and Flowers

I’m so loving the work of children’s book illustrator Christian Robinson lately, and recently got myself a copy of Gaston, which is one of my all-time favorite children’s books. (You MUST read it if you have not yet! It has a lovely message and the illustrations are superbe. Yes, that is French for superb.)

So I was really inspired to play around with my acrylic paints again, upon examining Robinson’s beautiful work, and I came up with a new way to play with them. I create a page of textured paint, and bring this into Procreate and then cut out my shapes in there to create the images. This is a fun new way to get textured shapes and avoid ubiquitous “black outline syndrome”. (And that is not to say I have anything permanent against black outlines in illustrations, but recently I have become more in love with flat shapes that have a more collaged or cut out look to them).

So here is an early effort at experimenting with this technique, November Flowers.

november_flowers

Leave a Reply

