MATS – Children’s Book Illustration

I have been very remiss with my updates, tsk! I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions (why just at that time of year? And why the need for resolve? Just do it!) but I will try and do a quick run-down of a couple of the many pots I have boiling currently….

The biggest and most exciting is that I am currently doing the Make Art That Sells Children’s Book Illustration course, with Lilla Rogers and Zoe Tucker. It is immensely exciting and every gammut of emotions I can think of really – exhilirating, terrifying, hopeful…all that and more.

Here is an example of what I have been working on:

junko_accessories1_lowres

This is an exploration of the accessories that would be part of the life of Junko Tabei, the first woman to climb Mount Everest, and an incredibly feisty and inspiring character! I just love her to bits, and Zoe Tucker has written an amazing text for her story.

My other exciting project is that I am preparing to meet with folk from Chronicle Books in March, when they visit for events planned by my local SCBWI (Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators), and I will have the opportunity to have a dummy book critiqued, as well as my portfolio and illustration work. It is a lot of work trying to prepare for this on top of my class (and upcoming MATS Boot Camp in March), but I feel like I am learning a lot and now is the time to just pour myself into all of this.

So welcome to 2017 of my world – I feel hopeful and positive this will be a year of big changes, and in spite of the fear many people have, I have a lot of optimism that the world is ready for a shift in a really GOOD direction!

Leave a Reply

